Guest Feedback October 2017

Guest Feedback October 2017

What a fantastic place! We both loved every minute of our stay, felt like we were at a architecturally designed luxury hotel with amazing spaces, linen, towels and details like underfloor heating.

Guest Feedback September 2017

Guest Feedback September 2017

What an experience! From the beautiful surrounds to the heated floors!! This was the perfect hideaway for our weekend away. Five minutes from everything we needed, it was almost a crime we hired a car.

Guest Feedback August 2017

What a lovely place to stay! The Schoolroom was beautiful and very comfortable. A lot of care has clearly gone in to the set-up of the accommodation. We particularly appreciated the cosiness of the heated floors as the weather raged outside. Rebecca was a wonderful host, and so thoughtful: she even left out toys for our baby!

 

Hideaway was everything we hoped for. A very unique experience and in a great location for exploring Hobart. Thanks Rebecca!

Guest Feedback July 2017

Rebecca's place is as rich in its history as it is in its modern comforts - heated flooring, electric fire and grand bath. It is cosy, comfortable and beautifully fitted out. Not to mention, 15/20 minutes walk from Salamanca and other hip and practical areas (supermarket etc.). Thank you for the fantastic stay and for your hospitality!

We absolutely loved our stay in this beautiful renovated apartment! Great neighbourhood and easy to get around with our car, not too bad to walk to town too. Will definitely recommend to our family and friends! Was a nice luxurious end to our little Tassie getaway!

Top 10 Things to Do in Hobart

Top 10 Things to Do in Hobart

Find world class art, convict history, pristine nature and award winning whiskey in theTop 10 list of things to do in Hobart

Hobart is a compact city, oozing with both modern and historic charm. Wander through colonial architecture and take in the vibrant energy of the creatives who choose to live here. Find pristine nature and artisanal produce, daring modern art and hip bars and restaurants. Hobart is a very special place. Tap into its eclectic magic.

Guest feedback: May 2017

Guest feedback: May 2017

Beautiful place, extremely clean. Everything has been thought of to make the stay comfortable. There is an iPad to search for restaurants, Sonos to play music, tea, milk and juice. The place is warm and very private. This is my first ever airbnb and the experience was seamless. The architecture felt like an episode out of Grand Designs. This place has been designed to host travellers and feels like a Lux hotel.

Guest feedback: April 2017

Guest feedback: April 2017

This is a great little getaway place. I highly recommend it. The room is really nicely set up with everything you need for a pleasant visit to Hobart.

This a lovely place to stay- very comfortable and well appointed with lots of thoughtful touches. It's easy to get around and into town and our host Rebecca was lovely.

What an amazing experience! Everyone needs to stay here! We haven't stopped talking about it. Well done guys a lovely way to spend the night and so affordable. 

Guest feedback: March 2017

Guest feedback: March 2017

The School House is divine! We stayed with two couples and it was very comfortable. It would also be ideal for a couple or even a family with children. The actual building, inside and out, is beautifully designed.

I don't even know how to describe this place, you just have to experience it! Such a cool little secluded space and YES with an opening roof at the touch of a button! Amazing. So easy to organise, great location, close walk to restaurants and pubs, great private outdoor chill area with a nice view...would definitely recommend.

Guest reviews: February 2017

Guest reviews: February 2017

I loved every second of my stay there. The retractable roof is amazing, the room is super clean, very quite, with good wifi and great music equipment. Restaurants and shops are at walking distance. And Rebecca is a very nice host. I totally recommend staying in this gem in Hobart!

Guest reviews: January 2017

Guest reviews: January 2017

A romantic stay at montys hideaway was everything we thought and more. High end is an understatement, a truly luxurious stay.

A special spot: very private and quiet yet close to the city centre, with a bonus of some wonderful history behind the property.

Quirky, modern, elegant.. .would stay again in a heartbeat. Great location, comfortable beds, fluffy towels. Everything is thought of. Thank you.

Guest Feedback: December 2016

Guest Feedback: December 2016

Rebecca's place is just fabulous. Couldn't be happier. Firstly, Rebecca was an excellent,friendly, timely, and very clear communicator, and made everything easy with no fuss. Secondly this historic place is beautifully appointed with the perfect marriage of interesting solid historic building but modern fit out eg beautiful spacious clean bathrooms with lovely fragrant soaps etc.

Staying at Rebecca's Historic Old School house was a fantastic experience. Rebecca was an outstanding host who made us feel very welcome.

This is a quaint and modern retreat that George Clarke would wax lyrical about. Great use of space to create and airy hideaway. The roof popping open in the morning was so relaxing. We just lay there looking up at the crisp blue Tasmania sky.

If you don't like outstanding architecture, dreamy beds and crisp linen, comfy leather couches and a groovy entertainment system, or tree-lined streets and water views, or strolling to restaurants, the MONA ferry and markets, then I'm sorry Tutor's Apartment probably isn't for you. But we like all these things and this little gem of a place delivered everything and more! Thanks for a fabulous long weekend.

A hike of wonder, down under

A hike of wonder, down under

Tasmania’s Freycinet Peninsula offers world-class walking trails and secluded beaches sure to enchant even the most modest trekker

Guest reviews: November 2016

Guest reviews: November 2016

  • Grace Lee

    모든것이 완벽 했습니다. 헤리티지 건물에 멋진 앤틱 가구가 깔끔하고 고풍스럽습니다.만족스러웠습니다.

    좋은 숙박에 머물게 되서 감사합니다. 아름답게 기억 될거예요

    November 2016

  • Peter Trewin

    Rebecca's place was lovely and very stylish. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Convenient position only a short walk away from Salamanca and battery point. My wife especially enjoyed the chilled music put on the iPad sound system. Also suited our little one who slept in the portable cot provided. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks Rebecca

    November 2016

  • Jack Douma

    This is truly a delight, a romantic getaway indeed. Rebecca and her husband Dermot were very welcoming and flexible with check-in, which helped us greatly.

    November 2016

  • John Gavin

    From the initial communication to the check out, staying in the Old School House was easy and relaxing. Rebecca was a great host making sure I had everything I needed. i would definitely recommend staying here.

    November 2016

  • Eugene Chew

    We had a great experience in Tasmania. Rebecca was present to meet and show us around the apartment. The Tutor's Apartment is clean, neat and very well furnished. I would say that Rebecca had her guests in mind when putting this place together. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable family stay in Tasmania.

    November 2016

  • Abbe Spaans

    This is the coolest Airbnb you'll ever find. A modern shipping container turned architectural marvel! All in the garden of a historic home. Heated floors and sunroof were phenomenal. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    November 2016

  • Damien Burgess

    Communication from Rebecca prior to arrival was excellent and she provided some suggestions for us for places to eat which was very useful. The accomodation was excellent and the location is perfect for the waterfront, Salamanca Market, nearby shops in Sandy Bay and the City. The sonos music system provided was a nice touch. Highly recommended if you are looking for a peaceful and/or romantic getaway with a touch of class.

    What Damien loved about your listing: 
    Stylish decor and central location

    November 2016

  • Graeme Jory

    Second visit to this property everything is thought of highly recommended

    November 2016

  • Charles Viney

    The flat has been beautifully renovated and it is really well located. It was spotless and we loved staying and would highly recommend a stay here. Thanks Rebecca

    November 2016

  • Pranav Sood

    Stylish, private and well-located: the perfect place for a weekend trip to Hobart. Highly recommended!

    November 2016

  • Jane Mcgregor

    We loved our week here. A perfect apartment for 2 couples. A gorgeous location with a million dollar view over the river. Rebecca made us very welcome on arrival and gave us all the information we needed to make our stay a success. A beautiful property with a fascinating history. Would definitely stay here again.

    November 2016

  • Kristen Miller

    The room was beautiful and the host was wonderfully knowledgable. Already want to come back!

    November 2016

  • Leo Luc

    We had a great experience in this compact and unique hideaway. Rebecca and her son were fantastic and welcoming hosts. The automatic opening roof and spacious bathroom was amazing. The included iPad, Apple TV, Netflix and Sonos were welcome inclusions

    November 2016

  • Amanda Pearce

    Cannot recommend this highly enough! Rebecca was absolutely marvellous, right from the outset. We were greeted and shown around the Old School House, with great guidance on where to locate all we would need, in the accommodation as well as locally for eating/shopping needs. The interiors are decorated beautifully, in a modern style which is considerate of the historical nature of the building, along with the modern addition. Everything was spotless and comfortable. The underfloor heating, walk-in shower, and free standing bath were great, and there is unlimited solar heated hot water. The little kitchenette is a clever set up, and tea and coffee were both available. There was juice, milk, and chilled water waiting in the fridge, which was a lovely touch. The TV is ready for all manner of entertainment, and the iPad mini with fast wi-if made internet tasks a breeze. Both a washing machine with detergent and a tumble dryer were available in the outhouse, parking was very easy, and the location quiet whilst also extremely accessible to the city and waterfront. We were travelling with our 6 month old, and the travel cot was made up ready for his arrival, as well as there being a highchair and appropriate eating paraphenalia. We simply cannot fault our experience, and are keen to return for another stay as soon as our next trip to Hobart rolls around.

    November 2016

  • Petra Salvatore

    What a stunning place to spend a two night getaway. We loved every minute. So private, modern and warm and the speedy wifi and sound system were an added bonus. Rebecca and Dermot were so welcoming, and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and knew about the best restaurants and attractions Hobart has to offer. Our favourite parts were the underfloor heating, luxuriously huge shower head and last but by no means least (actually the best bit) was waking up at 2am, opening the roof by the press of a button and feeling the cool breeze on our faces. Amazing. Doubt we'll ever use a hotel again.

    November 2016

  • Sharaf Khan

    The School House is a fantastic place to stay in Hobart. Excellent location and a beautiful home. Rebecca is a great host, very helpful and accommodating. Looking forward to staying there again.

    November 2016

  • Katie Sheppard

    I chose this home as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday, and it did not disappoint! What a surprise he got when Rebecca showed him the roof opened, and we had the chance to enjoy it (when it wasn't raining). Luxuriously decked out. Best shower ever. Rebecca was an absolute delight and I would recommend anyone to enjoy this unique experience!!

    November 2016

  • Jill Davies

    Rebecca gave us a warm and friend,y welcome, was extremely helpful from the outset, took time to explain everything we needed to know, had an information folder which was comprehensive covering everything from fire safety to dining options to the fascinating history of Monty's Retreat. She also took time to say goodbye and check out how our stay had been.

    What Jill loved about your listing: 
    This is a unique B&B situated in a glorious garden offering peace and tranquillity yet close to all that Hobart has to offer.

    November 2016

  • Xenia Taunt-Rivers

    Rebecca was a great host. She made my boyfriend and I feel very welcome and was great with communicating via email. The hideaway was beautiful and even better than the photos let on. Rebecca was very helpful in showing us nice places to eat and drink and allowed us to have a brilliant getaway on her beautiful property. Will be back next time we're in Hobart!

    What Xenia loved about your listing: 
    Thanks Rebecca, we had a beautiful time and really enjoyed the space. Best, Xenia

    November 2016

  • Al Chapman

    This is a great little place in a great location. There is nothing like lying in bed and looking up at stars. We would come back to this place anytime!!

    What Al loved about your listing: 
    Love the room.

    November 2016

  • Andrew Crawley

    We had a great stay at Rebecca's place. It is in a great location, comfortable and a great host.

    November 2016

  • Dominic Miller

    What an amazing place! Close to everything and with all the comforts you can imagine. We loved this place and will be back again.

    October 2016

  • Anna Young

    Could not have been happier with our stay at The Hideaway! Such a great space, the interior design is perfect and the retractable roof is AMAZING! It's private, quiet and the location is just a short enjoyable walk to Salamanca Place and Battery Point. Rebecca and family made us feel very welcome. Would recommend to anyone to stay here.

    What Anna loved about your listing: 
    Thank you Rebecca and congrats on creating such a lovely space for guests so stay in.

    October 2016

  • Mark Cheong

    Couldn't enjoy the sky view due to rain and clouds. But have the potential for a great stay. Wifi was great! And the place was beautiful!

    October 2016

  • Graeme Jory

    Nice modern appointed apartment in lovely tree lined street. Close to cbd if you don't mind a few hills. Highly recommended.

    October 2016

  • Jenny Egan

    Rebecca, was very friendly and professional in greeting us. Our experience went very smoothly and we could not have happier with our accomodation choice.

    What Jenny loved about your listing: 
    We loved everything about the "Bishop's Quarters.

    October 2016

  • Judith Barnes

    What a great spot in Sandy Bay so close to lots of restaurants just a nice walk away. The presentation of the apartment was great everything that we needed very tasteful and very modern. Loved the consistence heat of the under floor heating. Good walk to Salamanca market and restaurants . We will be back , loved our stay. Highly recommended . 10 out of 10
    Ian and Judy

    October 2016

Guest reviews October 2016

Guest reviews October 2016

  • Caroline Fung

    Our arrival into Hobart could not have been better after being warmly welcomed by Rebecca and showed to our little hideaway in the suburbs of the city. This outstanding accommodation looks simple, but in fact boasts the most sophisticated and modern home you could expect. The retractable roof was an amusing highlight that my partner couldn't help playing with to watch the starry night sky above us before we fell asleep each night. Arguably the greatest advantage of this destination is its close proximity to nearby restaurants, bars and tourist attractions which was extremely beneficial.

    October 2016

  • Julie Battisti

    We had a great stay here- amazing accommodation . Not only is the location handy and the building beautiful - all of the little details were perfect. Great pillows, big soft towels , fab shower. Would recommend it and stay again.

    October 2016

  • Nicole Tomkins

    Our stay at Becs place was absolutely wonderful. The place is beautiful, clean and all the little touches like the retractable roof, music and heated floor made us feel so special. Bec was so helpful over the four days giving us such great suggestions for food places and wineries. Everything is so close and a short walking distance. We enjoy every minute of our stay and will be back.

    October 2016

  • Annah Simsons

    Beautifully appointed apartment with some lovely touches, spacious and impeccably clean. Really convenient location.

    What Annah loved about your listing: 
    Hi Rebecca, thanks for the stay on Tuesday night. Everything was great. You've decorated the apartment beautifully!

    October 2016

  • Shane Gangatharan

    Loved our stay at the hideaway. A neat, well thought out shipping container. Nifty feature is the roof can open out! Bec was a great host, very welcoming and gave good advice on where to eat. Walking distance to Salamanca.

    October 2016

  • Beth Henwood

    Fantastic! What a great place to stay - very comfortable bed, great ares to relax in, spotlessly clean and charming host! Privacy respected and a great self contained area Close to town and all we wanted to do - Thanks so much Rebecca, I highly recommend your place and will come back to stay next time we are in Horbart

    What Beth loved about your listing: 
    Thanks for your hospitality Rebecca

     What Beth thought you could improve about the experience: 
    All fantastic

    October 2016

  • Sarah Norton

    We had an amazing time staying here. Walking distance to everything and the place was amazing. Can't wait to be back in Hobart and stay here again.

    October 2016

  • Johanna Coates

    Very inviting and friendly.

    Leave Public Response

     What Johanna loved about your listing: 
    Very modern and great views

    October 2016

  • Euan Wiseman

    One of the most amazing places we have stayed in the world! The quality of finishings and value for money was outstanding. The meet and greet from Rebecca was one of the highlights so informative and welcoming. The history and location adds to the appeal also.

    October 2016

  • Kasey Kehoe-Cox

    Incredible little place with an amazing story, great area, and it actually has a sunroof! Can't recommend highly enough.

    October 2016

  • Chaorui Zheng

    This apartment is worm and comfortable, suitable for couples and families to stay. The location is good, local cafe and Fresh market and Woolworths is in a few minutes walking distance, and only take a few minutes to drive to CBD. Rebecca is really nice and welcoming! Nice to stay!!

    October 2016

  • Mark Jackson

    At very short notice I was lucky to find this delightful place to stay - Very welcoming and then left me to my own devices. Beautiful combination of original and new architecture, coupled with well though technology and other inclusions made this a great stay - wish it could be vacant more often to allow me to stay more regularly.

    What Mark loved about your listing: 
    Everything

    October 2016

  • Alice Humble

    We absolutely loved our night in the hideaway. The space is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend for a getaway in Hobart.

    October 2016

  • Liz Breen

    We enjoyed our stay at the hideaway pod. Almost want to keep it a secret! It was very cosy listening to the rain and watching a movie. Loved the star gazing with the roof open (when the rain stopped!) and the quiet secluded location is excellent while not too far from the city. Rebecca made us feel very welcome.

    What Liz loved about your listing: 
    Loved everything, thank you! Appreciated the early check in. Excellent service. Thanks Rebecca.

    October 2016

  • Christopher Taylor

    Absolutely beautiful experience! The Old School House is a magnificent conversion to a private and peaceful retreat. The modern extension creates the perfect combination of old and new whilst providing all of the modern creature comforts. The bath and bathroom left me feeling completely relaxed after a long hot bath and shower. As soon as you enter, you feel all the noise drift away as you enter a near silent atmosphere creating the perfect way to switch off. Rebecca and her son were both amazing and accommodating and really made us feel at home. I am already looking forward to planning our return and making sure all our family and friends have a stay. Thank you again.

    What Christopher loved about your listing: 
    Everything! Modern architecture with the character and history of the school house. Super comfy bed and pillows. The robes were a great touch for super relaxation!

    October 2016

  • Nick Camerer

    Top notch place, historic location, with a couple of great small dwellings to stay at onsite. Great to have three separate beds for our party of three(no couples). Clean, new, good neighbourhood, friendly.

    What Nick loved about your listing: 
    top notch!

    October 2016

  • Maxwell Keeble

    Lovely space, private and off to one side but still a very manageable walk to the city centre. Great option to open the roof in the bedroom, great to wake up to blue skies. View is very private but still expansive. Bathroom is very well provided for and the experience overall is very special.

    October 2016

  • Adam Dagis

    The accommodation was fantastic. nice big shower, big bed, Sonos sound speaker for music and the roof opens up! fortunately we stayed during a clear and warm night and it was the best! Highly recommend!

    October 2016

  • Brendan Daugherty

    Perfect base to explore Hobart and surrounds. Had many modern comforts while retaining character of building.

    October 2016

  • Angelina Tran

    This place was absolutely gorgeous! The roof in the main room and shower were amazing as were the quality of the sheets, toiletries and entertainment options (Netflix/Apple TV). What a hideaway indeed! Would recommend to anyone! Rebecca was also very accommodating and willing to help out as much as she could. What a wonderful experience!

    October 2016

Foodie road trip in Tasmania: Australia's most compelling foodie destination - Traveller.com.au

East Coast Tasmania road trip.  Photo: Daniel Scott

These are exciting times for the Apple Isle. According to the latest Tasmanian Visitor Survey, 16 per cent more tourists visited in 2014 and their total expenditure soared by nearly 20 per cent, to $1 billion.

I wouldn't be surprised if most of those tourist dollars were spent on Tasmanian food, either in Hobart's emergent restaurant scene or on delectable produce from providores, markets and cellar doors.

As I travel the east coast from Hobart to the Bay of Fires north, on an eight-day road trip meeting food producers, restaurateurs and accommodation providers, I find them all quietly optimistic. Some, like sixth-generation Tasmanian Mary McNeill, from Gourmania food tours in Hobart, attribute the changing paradigm to the MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) effect.

Farm Gate Market. Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Nick Osborne

Farm Gate Market. Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Nick Osborne

"MONA's success has sent out an important message about Tasmania: that anything is possible here if you put your mind to it," says McNeill.

Opened in 2011 by professional Taswegian gambler and philanthropist David Walsh, the subterranean hotchpotch of ancient coinage, Roman mosaics and neo-conceptual works, such as Wim Delvoye'sCloaca Professional  – essentially a stinky poo-making machine – is so unusual that it alone provides justification enough to fly south. I'd gladly revisit next weekend to gaze again at Sidney Nolan'sSnake arabesque, 44-metres broad, 5.6-metres high and comprising 1620 individual images. 

However, while MONA has its own classy fine dining restaurant, The Source, and is built on the site of the Moorilla winery, it doesn't account for the increasingly glowing reputation of Tasmanian food and wine. Nor is former Fairfax restaurant critic Matthew Evans, who shifted to Tassie to "breed pigs and grow brussels sprouts", entirely responsible for making us all go ga-ga over its gourmet produce. The state was producing top-class food and wine long before television cameras drew wider attention to it.

Bruny Island cheesemaker. Photo: Daniel Scott

Bruny Island cheesemaker. Photo: Daniel Scott

My visit is, shockingly, only my second in 20 years, an oversight partly explained by my predilection for warmer climes. Visiting in summer, the east coast produces everything from warm sunshine to persistent rain, to snow and sleet – you read that right – on cloud-shrouded Mount Wellington, behind Hobart.

But what I realise during this road trip is that you don't visit Tasmania for the weather. You go for its newly galvanised capital, to feast and slurp wine like a monarch, and to savour the peaty taste of the world's finest single malt whisky at Sullivans Cove distillery.  

You hurry south to see beaches the colour of vanilla gelato, nudged by a teal Tasman Sea and bookended by granite outcrops encrusted with red lichen. To see grassy pastures, trout-filled rivers and lakes, hills indomitable enough to call mountains and terrier-like Tassie devils. And, you now also visit to marvel at the MONA art museum, displaying (language warning)… 140 life-sized sculptures of women's  "c--ts".  

Moresco Restaurant.  Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Moresco Resta

Moresco Restaurant.  Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Moresco Resta

I begin in Hobart, taking up residence at the Avalon City Retreat, a glass-fronted penthouse craned on to a central Hobart office block, with views across the harbour and Derwent River estuary. It's an arty, neatly designed eyrie from which to locate the purveyors of fine food and drink I'll be swooping down upon.

Dinner on my first night is at new South American-themed restaurant, Frank (frankrestaurant.com.au), on Hobart's waterfront. It's a striking space with big windows for people-watching and not one ordinary light or chair in Georgina Freeman's modish interior design. I love the communal tables animated by chat, the long turquoise bench at its core and the cage surrounding one small, exclusive dining area.  

Its cocktail menu features mojitos and caipirinhas, and the menu has dishes such as grilled octopus with causa and pebre.  Frank is another winner from the team that cut its teeth on the much-lauded Italian/Spanish diner, Smolt (smolt.com.au), in Salamanca Square.

Wineglass Bay.  

Wineglass Bay.  

The following morning I take a flight of fancy, journeying the short distance to MONA on a seaplane. Even in buffeting drizzle, I note how Hobart gathers around its many bays and the Derwent River like a mini-Sydney. I stay at the museum all day, interrupting my consumption of art with a tasting at the on-site cellar door and two impeccable courses – spanner crab salad followed by blue-eyed cod with clam sauce and chorizo oil – at The Source (mona.net.au/mona/restaurant).

The next morning, before beginning my drive north, I join a Hobart gourmet adventure with New York trained-chef Mary McNeill, beginning at Salamanca Place. Of all those I meet, McNeill is Tasmanian gastronomy's foremost apostle, leading me around 10 venues, including the Wursthaus Kitchen deli, just above Salamanca, and running a commentary laced with regional fervour.

"We're just 2 per cent  of the population," she tells me, "but produce 10 per cent of Australia's vegies, 25 per cent  of its potatoes and nearly all its quality salmon.

enjoying a cocktail at Frank Restaurant. Photo: Tourism Tasmania and Andrew Wils

enjoying a cocktail at Frank Restaurant. Photo: Tourism Tasmania and Andrew Wils

"Tasmania's become much more of an island since we've become interested in the provenance of food," she says, after tastings at Tassal Salmon Shop and Bruny Island cheese company, in Salamanca. 

Hobart is necessarily the fulcrum for the island's food, so I'm keen to gauge, on my journey up the east coast, if the excitement extends beyond the capital.  But then that's a silly question when your next stop is Saffire Freycinet resort, voted the world's top boutique hotel in 2014, and its restaurant is the domain of executive chef Hugh Whitehouse.

Everything Whitehouse and his team deliver during my stay is as impeccable as the glinting views over Great Oyster Bay from Saffire's Palate restaurant. Over four meals, each dish appears like a lustrous artwork, from a first entree of seared scallops in green pea puree followed by Muscovy duck with duck and pistachio sausage, to my final baked-egg breakfast. The food isn't merely pretty, but locally and seasonally sourced, and packed with flavour and texture.

It's as well that there are treks in Freycinet National Park to offset my immoderation. Even on a rain-soaked day, walking along Wineglass Bay, surely Australia's most aesthetically pleasing beach, adds to impressions of being somewhere exceptional.   

Venturing further north from Freycinet to the Bay of Fires, head-turning curves of blond sand appear at nearly every turn, many naked of development and smoothed by chiffon-like ripples in the Tasman Sea. For the next two nights I stay behind one such delicious, empty beach, at the rustic Arthouse, in Binalong Bay, near the tip of Tassie's east coast.

Overlooking the bay, I find Moresco (morescorestaurant.com.au), a new restaurant, delivering excellent Mediterranean-style fare, their Tasmanian seafood broth just the ticket on a cold summer night.

This bayside village is also where former Brisbane chef Roz MacAllan, inspired by Rick Stein's success at Padstow in Cornwall, has set up Kiss a Fish Cookery School.  

"People don't buy much fish because they don't know what to do with it," says MacAllan, who offers intensive day-long courses. "The food culture is strong in Tasmania and I'm a big exponent of 'ocean to plate', so this seemed the perfect place to do this."

Another day and another drive through Tasmanian countryside, this time into the hinterland behind St Helens, provides more stand-out produce to sample. At Pyengana Dairy Company, cheesemaker Jon Healey keeps winning awards for cheddar produced to his grandfather's recipe. The milking shed, complete with robotic massage function, suggests that pampered cows make for prized cheese.

My epicurean east coast odyssey is nearly over and I'm yet to have a poor meal anywhere. The good run continues at Mohr & Smith restaurant in St Helens, with artful simplicity at work in my dinner of hot smoked salmon cake with green onion salsa, and fettucini marinara stuffed with fish, scallops and mussels.

The next day I make it back to Hobart for brunch at the much-recommended Pigeon Hole cafe (pigeonholecafe.com.au), where the eggs en cocotte are another hit. I brave the packed Salamanca markets before adjourning to Lark Distillery for an evening of music and whisky tastings.

I end my trip at Hobart's Sunday morning Farm Gate market. The love-child of co-ordinator Madi Peattie, a former croupier at Wrest Point Casino, where MONA founder David Walsh discovered his gambling talent, this celebration of Tassie food is guaranteed to make you salivate. I'm still eating, rolling "Lady Hester" sourdough doughnuts around my mouth, and meandering through sumptuous scenery, well into my final two hours in Tasmania.   

Only this morning the backdrop is formed by hillocks of oyster and shitake mushrooms, from Cygnet in the Huon Valley, and ridges of Asian greens and bulbous purple garlic from Campania, in the Coal River region.  The produce, like the stallholders selling it, is generous, perky and diverse, and suggests that the Apple Isle deserves a new sobriquet.  

Chorizo Isle, perhaps? Or, Extra Virgin Cold Pressed Island?  

No, Isle of Plenty ought to do.

TRIP NOTES

MORE INFORMATION

discovertasmania.com

GETTING THERE

Virgin Australia (virginaustralia.com) flies to Hobart from Melbourne 33 times weekly, fares from $119, and ex Sydney 14 times, fares starting at $135. 

STAYING THERE

Avalon City Retreat in Hobart costs from $900 a  night; see avalonretreats.com.au/city.

Saffire Freycinet has all-inclusive rates from $1950 a room/per night; see saffire-freycinet.com.au.

Arthouse Bay of Fires, Binalong Bay, costs $500  a  night, two nights minimum; see arthousebayoffires.com.au.

SEE + DO

Kiss a Fish Cookery School has full-day "Ocean to Plate" classes at Roz MacAllan's Bay of Fires beach house; cost $350; see kissafishcookeryschool.com.au.

Hobart Scenic Flights has flights from $125 each; see tasmanianairadventures.com.au.

MONA opens Wednesday-Monday 10-6pm; admission $25; see mona.net.au.

Gourmania food tours has three-hour city tours costing $120, including tastings; see gourmaniafoodtours.com.au.

Pyengana Dairy Company, St Columba Falls Road, is 20 minutes' drive inland from St Helens; open 7 days, 10-4pm in winter; see pyenganadairy.com.au

The Farm Gate Market is in Bathurst Street, Hobart, open 8.30am-1pm Sundays; see farmgatemarket.com.au.

The writer was a guest of Tourism Tasmania and accommodation providers.



Read more:http://www.traveller.com.au/foodie-road-trip-in-tasmania-australias-most-compelling-foodie-destination-gh29pr#ixzz4Km11x3f9