Guest Feedback: December 2016

Guest Feedback: December 2016

Rebecca's place is just fabulous. Couldn't be happier. Firstly, Rebecca was an excellent,friendly, timely, and very clear communicator, and made everything easy with no fuss. Secondly this historic place is beautifully appointed with the perfect marriage of interesting solid historic building but modern fit out eg beautiful spacious clean bathrooms with lovely fragrant soaps etc.

Staying at Rebecca's Historic Old School house was a fantastic experience. Rebecca was an outstanding host who made us feel very welcome.

This is a quaint and modern retreat that George Clarke would wax lyrical about. Great use of space to create and airy hideaway. The roof popping open in the morning was so relaxing. We just lay there looking up at the crisp blue Tasmania sky.

If you don't like outstanding architecture, dreamy beds and crisp linen, comfy leather couches and a groovy entertainment system, or tree-lined streets and water views, or strolling to restaurants, the MONA ferry and markets, then I'm sorry Tutor's Apartment probably isn't for you. But we like all these things and this little gem of a place delivered everything and more! Thanks for a fabulous long weekend.

A hike of wonder, down under

A hike of wonder, down under

Tasmania’s Freycinet Peninsula offers world-class walking trails and secluded beaches sure to enchant even the most modest trekker

Guest reviews: November 2016

Guest reviews: November 2016

  • Grace Lee

    모든것이 완벽 했습니다. 헤리티지 건물에 멋진 앤틱 가구가 깔끔하고 고풍스럽습니다.만족스러웠습니다.

    좋은 숙박에 머물게 되서 감사합니다. 아름답게 기억 될거예요

    November 2016

  • Peter Trewin

    Rebecca's place was lovely and very stylish. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Convenient position only a short walk away from Salamanca and battery point. My wife especially enjoyed the chilled music put on the iPad sound system. Also suited our little one who slept in the portable cot provided. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks Rebecca

    November 2016

  • Jack Douma

    This is truly a delight, a romantic getaway indeed. Rebecca and her husband Dermot were very welcoming and flexible with check-in, which helped us greatly.

    November 2016

  • John Gavin

    From the initial communication to the check out, staying in the Old School House was easy and relaxing. Rebecca was a great host making sure I had everything I needed. i would definitely recommend staying here.

    November 2016

  • Eugene Chew

    We had a great experience in Tasmania. Rebecca was present to meet and show us around the apartment. The Tutor's Apartment is clean, neat and very well furnished. I would say that Rebecca had her guests in mind when putting this place together. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable family stay in Tasmania.

    November 2016

  • Abbe Spaans

    This is the coolest Airbnb you'll ever find. A modern shipping container turned architectural marvel! All in the garden of a historic home. Heated floors and sunroof were phenomenal. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    November 2016

  • Damien Burgess

    Communication from Rebecca prior to arrival was excellent and she provided some suggestions for us for places to eat which was very useful. The accomodation was excellent and the location is perfect for the waterfront, Salamanca Market, nearby shops in Sandy Bay and the City. The sonos music system provided was a nice touch. Highly recommended if you are looking for a peaceful and/or romantic getaway with a touch of class.

    What Damien loved about your listing: 
    Stylish decor and central location

    November 2016

  • Graeme Jory

    Second visit to this property everything is thought of highly recommended

    November 2016

  • Charles Viney

    The flat has been beautifully renovated and it is really well located. It was spotless and we loved staying and would highly recommend a stay here. Thanks Rebecca

    November 2016

  • Pranav Sood

    Stylish, private and well-located: the perfect place for a weekend trip to Hobart. Highly recommended!

    November 2016

  • Jane Mcgregor

    We loved our week here. A perfect apartment for 2 couples. A gorgeous location with a million dollar view over the river. Rebecca made us very welcome on arrival and gave us all the information we needed to make our stay a success. A beautiful property with a fascinating history. Would definitely stay here again.

    November 2016

  • Kristen Miller

    The room was beautiful and the host was wonderfully knowledgable. Already want to come back!

    November 2016

  • Leo Luc

    We had a great experience in this compact and unique hideaway. Rebecca and her son were fantastic and welcoming hosts. The automatic opening roof and spacious bathroom was amazing. The included iPad, Apple TV, Netflix and Sonos were welcome inclusions

    November 2016

  • Amanda Pearce

    Cannot recommend this highly enough! Rebecca was absolutely marvellous, right from the outset. We were greeted and shown around the Old School House, with great guidance on where to locate all we would need, in the accommodation as well as locally for eating/shopping needs. The interiors are decorated beautifully, in a modern style which is considerate of the historical nature of the building, along with the modern addition. Everything was spotless and comfortable. The underfloor heating, walk-in shower, and free standing bath were great, and there is unlimited solar heated hot water. The little kitchenette is a clever set up, and tea and coffee were both available. There was juice, milk, and chilled water waiting in the fridge, which was a lovely touch. The TV is ready for all manner of entertainment, and the iPad mini with fast wi-if made internet tasks a breeze. Both a washing machine with detergent and a tumble dryer were available in the outhouse, parking was very easy, and the location quiet whilst also extremely accessible to the city and waterfront. We were travelling with our 6 month old, and the travel cot was made up ready for his arrival, as well as there being a highchair and appropriate eating paraphenalia. We simply cannot fault our experience, and are keen to return for another stay as soon as our next trip to Hobart rolls around.

    November 2016

  • Petra Salvatore

    What a stunning place to spend a two night getaway. We loved every minute. So private, modern and warm and the speedy wifi and sound system were an added bonus. Rebecca and Dermot were so welcoming, and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and knew about the best restaurants and attractions Hobart has to offer. Our favourite parts were the underfloor heating, luxuriously huge shower head and last but by no means least (actually the best bit) was waking up at 2am, opening the roof by the press of a button and feeling the cool breeze on our faces. Amazing. Doubt we'll ever use a hotel again.

    November 2016

  • Sharaf Khan

    The School House is a fantastic place to stay in Hobart. Excellent location and a beautiful home. Rebecca is a great host, very helpful and accommodating. Looking forward to staying there again.

    November 2016

  • Katie Sheppard

    I chose this home as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday, and it did not disappoint! What a surprise he got when Rebecca showed him the roof opened, and we had the chance to enjoy it (when it wasn't raining). Luxuriously decked out. Best shower ever. Rebecca was an absolute delight and I would recommend anyone to enjoy this unique experience!!

    November 2016

  • Jill Davies

    Rebecca gave us a warm and friend,y welcome, was extremely helpful from the outset, took time to explain everything we needed to know, had an information folder which was comprehensive covering everything from fire safety to dining options to the fascinating history of Monty's Retreat. She also took time to say goodbye and check out how our stay had been.

    What Jill loved about your listing: 
    This is a unique B&B situated in a glorious garden offering peace and tranquillity yet close to all that Hobart has to offer.

    November 2016

  • Xenia Taunt-Rivers

    Rebecca was a great host. She made my boyfriend and I feel very welcome and was great with communicating via email. The hideaway was beautiful and even better than the photos let on. Rebecca was very helpful in showing us nice places to eat and drink and allowed us to have a brilliant getaway on her beautiful property. Will be back next time we're in Hobart!

    What Xenia loved about your listing: 
    Thanks Rebecca, we had a beautiful time and really enjoyed the space. Best, Xenia

    November 2016

  • Al Chapman

    This is a great little place in a great location. There is nothing like lying in bed and looking up at stars. We would come back to this place anytime!!

    What Al loved about your listing: 
    Love the room.

    November 2016

  • Andrew Crawley

    We had a great stay at Rebecca's place. It is in a great location, comfortable and a great host.

    November 2016

  • Dominic Miller

    What an amazing place! Close to everything and with all the comforts you can imagine. We loved this place and will be back again.

    October 2016

  • Anna Young

    Could not have been happier with our stay at The Hideaway! Such a great space, the interior design is perfect and the retractable roof is AMAZING! It's private, quiet and the location is just a short enjoyable walk to Salamanca Place and Battery Point. Rebecca and family made us feel very welcome. Would recommend to anyone to stay here.

    What Anna loved about your listing: 
    Thank you Rebecca and congrats on creating such a lovely space for guests so stay in.

    October 2016

  • Mark Cheong

    Couldn't enjoy the sky view due to rain and clouds. But have the potential for a great stay. Wifi was great! And the place was beautiful!

    October 2016

  • Graeme Jory

    Nice modern appointed apartment in lovely tree lined street. Close to cbd if you don't mind a few hills. Highly recommended.

    October 2016

  • Jenny Egan

    Rebecca, was very friendly and professional in greeting us. Our experience went very smoothly and we could not have happier with our accomodation choice.

    What Jenny loved about your listing: 
    We loved everything about the "Bishop's Quarters.

    October 2016

  • Judith Barnes

    What a great spot in Sandy Bay so close to lots of restaurants just a nice walk away. The presentation of the apartment was great everything that we needed very tasteful and very modern. Loved the consistence heat of the under floor heating. Good walk to Salamanca market and restaurants . We will be back , loved our stay. Highly recommended . 10 out of 10
    Ian and Judy

    October 2016

Guest reviews October 2016

Guest reviews October 2016

  • Caroline Fung

    Our arrival into Hobart could not have been better after being warmly welcomed by Rebecca and showed to our little hideaway in the suburbs of the city. This outstanding accommodation looks simple, but in fact boasts the most sophisticated and modern home you could expect. The retractable roof was an amusing highlight that my partner couldn't help playing with to watch the starry night sky above us before we fell asleep each night. Arguably the greatest advantage of this destination is its close proximity to nearby restaurants, bars and tourist attractions which was extremely beneficial.

    October 2016

  • Julie Battisti

    We had a great stay here- amazing accommodation . Not only is the location handy and the building beautiful - all of the little details were perfect. Great pillows, big soft towels , fab shower. Would recommend it and stay again.

    October 2016

  • Nicole Tomkins

    Our stay at Becs place was absolutely wonderful. The place is beautiful, clean and all the little touches like the retractable roof, music and heated floor made us feel so special. Bec was so helpful over the four days giving us such great suggestions for food places and wineries. Everything is so close and a short walking distance. We enjoy every minute of our stay and will be back.

    October 2016

  • Annah Simsons

    Beautifully appointed apartment with some lovely touches, spacious and impeccably clean. Really convenient location.

    What Annah loved about your listing: 
    Hi Rebecca, thanks for the stay on Tuesday night. Everything was great. You've decorated the apartment beautifully!

    October 2016

  • Shane Gangatharan

    Loved our stay at the hideaway. A neat, well thought out shipping container. Nifty feature is the roof can open out! Bec was a great host, very welcoming and gave good advice on where to eat. Walking distance to Salamanca.

    October 2016

  • Beth Henwood

    Fantastic! What a great place to stay - very comfortable bed, great ares to relax in, spotlessly clean and charming host! Privacy respected and a great self contained area Close to town and all we wanted to do - Thanks so much Rebecca, I highly recommend your place and will come back to stay next time we are in Horbart

    What Beth loved about your listing: 
    Thanks for your hospitality Rebecca

     What Beth thought you could improve about the experience: 
    All fantastic

    October 2016

  • Sarah Norton

    We had an amazing time staying here. Walking distance to everything and the place was amazing. Can't wait to be back in Hobart and stay here again.

    October 2016

  • Johanna Coates

    Very inviting and friendly.

    Leave Public Response

     What Johanna loved about your listing: 
    Very modern and great views

    October 2016

  • Euan Wiseman

    One of the most amazing places we have stayed in the world! The quality of finishings and value for money was outstanding. The meet and greet from Rebecca was one of the highlights so informative and welcoming. The history and location adds to the appeal also.

    October 2016

  • Kasey Kehoe-Cox

    Incredible little place with an amazing story, great area, and it actually has a sunroof! Can't recommend highly enough.

    October 2016

  • Chaorui Zheng

    This apartment is worm and comfortable, suitable for couples and families to stay. The location is good, local cafe and Fresh market and Woolworths is in a few minutes walking distance, and only take a few minutes to drive to CBD. Rebecca is really nice and welcoming! Nice to stay!!

    October 2016

  • Mark Jackson

    At very short notice I was lucky to find this delightful place to stay - Very welcoming and then left me to my own devices. Beautiful combination of original and new architecture, coupled with well though technology and other inclusions made this a great stay - wish it could be vacant more often to allow me to stay more regularly.

    What Mark loved about your listing: 
    Everything

    October 2016

  • Alice Humble

    We absolutely loved our night in the hideaway. The space is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend for a getaway in Hobart.

    October 2016

  • Liz Breen

    We enjoyed our stay at the hideaway pod. Almost want to keep it a secret! It was very cosy listening to the rain and watching a movie. Loved the star gazing with the roof open (when the rain stopped!) and the quiet secluded location is excellent while not too far from the city. Rebecca made us feel very welcome.

    What Liz loved about your listing: 
    Loved everything, thank you! Appreciated the early check in. Excellent service. Thanks Rebecca.

    October 2016

  • Christopher Taylor

    Absolutely beautiful experience! The Old School House is a magnificent conversion to a private and peaceful retreat. The modern extension creates the perfect combination of old and new whilst providing all of the modern creature comforts. The bath and bathroom left me feeling completely relaxed after a long hot bath and shower. As soon as you enter, you feel all the noise drift away as you enter a near silent atmosphere creating the perfect way to switch off. Rebecca and her son were both amazing and accommodating and really made us feel at home. I am already looking forward to planning our return and making sure all our family and friends have a stay. Thank you again.

    What Christopher loved about your listing: 
    Everything! Modern architecture with the character and history of the school house. Super comfy bed and pillows. The robes were a great touch for super relaxation!

    October 2016

  • Nick Camerer

    Top notch place, historic location, with a couple of great small dwellings to stay at onsite. Great to have three separate beds for our party of three(no couples). Clean, new, good neighbourhood, friendly.

    What Nick loved about your listing: 
    top notch!

    October 2016

  • Maxwell Keeble

    Lovely space, private and off to one side but still a very manageable walk to the city centre. Great option to open the roof in the bedroom, great to wake up to blue skies. View is very private but still expansive. Bathroom is very well provided for and the experience overall is very special.

    October 2016

  • Adam Dagis

    The accommodation was fantastic. nice big shower, big bed, Sonos sound speaker for music and the roof opens up! fortunately we stayed during a clear and warm night and it was the best! Highly recommend!

    October 2016

  • Brendan Daugherty

    Perfect base to explore Hobart and surrounds. Had many modern comforts while retaining character of building.

    October 2016

  • Angelina Tran

    This place was absolutely gorgeous! The roof in the main room and shower were amazing as were the quality of the sheets, toiletries and entertainment options (Netflix/Apple TV). What a hideaway indeed! Would recommend to anyone! Rebecca was also very accommodating and willing to help out as much as she could. What a wonderful experience!

    October 2016

Foodie road trip in Tasmania: Australia's most compelling foodie destination - Traveller.com.au

East Coast Tasmania road trip.  Photo: Daniel Scott

These are exciting times for the Apple Isle. According to the latest Tasmanian Visitor Survey, 16 per cent more tourists visited in 2014 and their total expenditure soared by nearly 20 per cent, to $1 billion.

I wouldn't be surprised if most of those tourist dollars were spent on Tasmanian food, either in Hobart's emergent restaurant scene or on delectable produce from providores, markets and cellar doors.

As I travel the east coast from Hobart to the Bay of Fires north, on an eight-day road trip meeting food producers, restaurateurs and accommodation providers, I find them all quietly optimistic. Some, like sixth-generation Tasmanian Mary McNeill, from Gourmania food tours in Hobart, attribute the changing paradigm to the MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) effect.

Farm Gate Market.  Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Nick Osborne

Farm Gate Market. Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Nick Osborne

"MONA's success has sent out an important message about Tasmania: that anything is possible here if you put your mind to it," says McNeill.

Opened in 2011 by professional Taswegian gambler and philanthropist David Walsh, the subterranean hotchpotch of ancient coinage, Roman mosaics and neo-conceptual works, such as Wim Delvoye'sCloaca Professional  – essentially a stinky poo-making machine – is so unusual that it alone provides justification enough to fly south. I'd gladly revisit next weekend to gaze again at Sidney Nolan'sSnake arabesque, 44-metres broad, 5.6-metres high and comprising 1620 individual images. 

However, while MONA has its own classy fine dining restaurant, The Source, and is built on the site of the Moorilla winery, it doesn't account for the increasingly glowing reputation of Tasmanian food and wine. Nor is former Fairfax restaurant critic Matthew Evans, who shifted to Tassie to "breed pigs and grow brussels sprouts", entirely responsible for making us all go ga-ga over its gourmet produce. The state was producing top-class food and wine long before television cameras drew wider attention to it.

Bruny Island cheesemaker. Photo: Daniel Scott

Bruny Island cheesemaker. Photo: Daniel Scott

My visit is, shockingly, only my second in 20 years, an oversight partly explained by my predilection for warmer climes. Visiting in summer, the east coast produces everything from warm sunshine to persistent rain, to snow and sleet – you read that right – on cloud-shrouded Mount Wellington, behind Hobart.

But what I realise during this road trip is that you don't visit Tasmania for the weather. You go for its newly galvanised capital, to feast and slurp wine like a monarch, and to savour the peaty taste of the world's finest single malt whisky at Sullivans Cove distillery.  

You hurry south to see beaches the colour of vanilla gelato, nudged by a teal Tasman Sea and bookended by granite outcrops encrusted with red lichen. To see grassy pastures, trout-filled rivers and lakes, hills indomitable enough to call mountains and terrier-like Tassie devils. And, you now also visit to marvel at the MONA art museum, displaying (language warning)… 140 life-sized sculptures of women's  "c--ts".  

Moresco Restaurant.  Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Moresco Resta

Moresco Restaurant.  Photo: Tourism Tasmania & Moresco Resta

I begin in Hobart, taking up residence at the Avalon City Retreat, a glass-fronted penthouse craned on to a central Hobart office block, with views across the harbour and Derwent River estuary. It's an arty, neatly designed eyrie from which to locate the purveyors of fine food and drink I'll be swooping down upon.

Dinner on my first night is at new South American-themed restaurant, Frank (frankrestaurant.com.au), on Hobart's waterfront. It's a striking space with big windows for people-watching and not one ordinary light or chair in Georgina Freeman's modish interior design. I love the communal tables animated by chat, the long turquoise bench at its core and the cage surrounding one small, exclusive dining area.  

Its cocktail menu features mojitos and caipirinhas, and the menu has dishes such as grilled octopus with causa and pebre.  Frank is another winner from the team that cut its teeth on the much-lauded Italian/Spanish diner, Smolt (smolt.com.au), in Salamanca Square.

Wineglass Bay.  

Wineglass Bay.  

The following morning I take a flight of fancy, journeying the short distance to MONA on a seaplane. Even in buffeting drizzle, I note how Hobart gathers around its many bays and the Derwent River like a mini-Sydney. I stay at the museum all day, interrupting my consumption of art with a tasting at the on-site cellar door and two impeccable courses – spanner crab salad followed by blue-eyed cod with clam sauce and chorizo oil – at The Source (mona.net.au/mona/restaurant).

The next morning, before beginning my drive north, I join a Hobart gourmet adventure with New York trained-chef Mary McNeill, beginning at Salamanca Place. Of all those I meet, McNeill is Tasmanian gastronomy's foremost apostle, leading me around 10 venues, including the Wursthaus Kitchen deli, just above Salamanca, and running a commentary laced with regional fervour.

"We're just 2 per cent  of the population," she tells me, "but produce 10 per cent of Australia's vegies, 25 per cent  of its potatoes and nearly all its quality salmon.

enjoying a cocktail at Frank Restaurant. Photo: Tourism Tasmania and Andrew Wils

enjoying a cocktail at Frank Restaurant. Photo: Tourism Tasmania and Andrew Wils

"Tasmania's become much more of an island since we've become interested in the provenance of food," she says, after tastings at Tassal Salmon Shop and Bruny Island cheese company, in Salamanca. 

Hobart is necessarily the fulcrum for the island's food, so I'm keen to gauge, on my journey up the east coast, if the excitement extends beyond the capital.  But then that's a silly question when your next stop is Saffire Freycinet resort, voted the world's top boutique hotel in 2014, and its restaurant is the domain of executive chef Hugh Whitehouse.

Everything Whitehouse and his team deliver during my stay is as impeccable as the glinting views over Great Oyster Bay from Saffire's Palate restaurant. Over four meals, each dish appears like a lustrous artwork, from a first entree of seared scallops in green pea puree followed by Muscovy duck with duck and pistachio sausage, to my final baked-egg breakfast. The food isn't merely pretty, but locally and seasonally sourced, and packed with flavour and texture.

It's as well that there are treks in Freycinet National Park to offset my immoderation. Even on a rain-soaked day, walking along Wineglass Bay, surely Australia's most aesthetically pleasing beach, adds to impressions of being somewhere exceptional.   

Venturing further north from Freycinet to the Bay of Fires, head-turning curves of blond sand appear at nearly every turn, many naked of development and smoothed by chiffon-like ripples in the Tasman Sea. For the next two nights I stay behind one such delicious, empty beach, at the rustic Arthouse, in Binalong Bay, near the tip of Tassie's east coast.

Overlooking the bay, I find Moresco (morescorestaurant.com.au), a new restaurant, delivering excellent Mediterranean-style fare, their Tasmanian seafood broth just the ticket on a cold summer night.

This bayside village is also where former Brisbane chef Roz MacAllan, inspired by Rick Stein's success at Padstow in Cornwall, has set up Kiss a Fish Cookery School.  

"People don't buy much fish because they don't know what to do with it," says MacAllan, who offers intensive day-long courses. "The food culture is strong in Tasmania and I'm a big exponent of 'ocean to plate', so this seemed the perfect place to do this."

Another day and another drive through Tasmanian countryside, this time into the hinterland behind St Helens, provides more stand-out produce to sample. At Pyengana Dairy Company, cheesemaker Jon Healey keeps winning awards for cheddar produced to his grandfather's recipe. The milking shed, complete with robotic massage function, suggests that pampered cows make for prized cheese.

My epicurean east coast odyssey is nearly over and I'm yet to have a poor meal anywhere. The good run continues at Mohr & Smith restaurant in St Helens, with artful simplicity at work in my dinner of hot smoked salmon cake with green onion salsa, and fettucini marinara stuffed with fish, scallops and mussels.

The next day I make it back to Hobart for brunch at the much-recommended Pigeon Hole cafe (pigeonholecafe.com.au), where the eggs en cocotte are another hit. I brave the packed Salamanca markets before adjourning to Lark Distillery for an evening of music and whisky tastings.

I end my trip at Hobart's Sunday morning Farm Gate market. The love-child of co-ordinator Madi Peattie, a former croupier at Wrest Point Casino, where MONA founder David Walsh discovered his gambling talent, this celebration of Tassie food is guaranteed to make you salivate. I'm still eating, rolling "Lady Hester" sourdough doughnuts around my mouth, and meandering through sumptuous scenery, well into my final two hours in Tasmania.   

Only this morning the backdrop is formed by hillocks of oyster and shitake mushrooms, from Cygnet in the Huon Valley, and ridges of Asian greens and bulbous purple garlic from Campania, in the Coal River region.  The produce, like the stallholders selling it, is generous, perky and diverse, and suggests that the Apple Isle deserves a new sobriquet.  

Chorizo Isle, perhaps? Or, Extra Virgin Cold Pressed Island?  

No, Isle of Plenty ought to do.

TRIP NOTES

MORE INFORMATION

discovertasmania.com

GETTING THERE

Virgin Australia (virginaustralia.com) flies to Hobart from Melbourne 33 times weekly, fares from $119, and ex Sydney 14 times, fares starting at $135. 

STAYING THERE

Avalon City Retreat in Hobart costs from $900 a  night; see avalonretreats.com.au/city.

Saffire Freycinet has all-inclusive rates from $1950 a room/per night; see saffire-freycinet.com.au.

Arthouse Bay of Fires, Binalong Bay, costs $500  a  night, two nights minimum; see arthousebayoffires.com.au.

SEE + DO

Kiss a Fish Cookery School has full-day "Ocean to Plate" classes at Roz MacAllan's Bay of Fires beach house; cost $350; see kissafishcookeryschool.com.au.

Hobart Scenic Flights has flights from $125 each; see tasmanianairadventures.com.au.

MONA opens Wednesday-Monday 10-6pm; admission $25; see mona.net.au.

Gourmania food tours has three-hour city tours costing $120, including tastings; see gourmaniafoodtours.com.au.

Pyengana Dairy Company, St Columba Falls Road, is 20 minutes' drive inland from St Helens; open 7 days, 10-4pm in winter; see pyenganadairy.com.au

The Farm Gate Market is in Bathurst Street, Hobart, open 8.30am-1pm Sundays; see farmgatemarket.com.au.

The writer was a guest of Tourism Tasmania and accommodation providers.



Read more:http://www.traveller.com.au/foodie-road-trip-in-tasmania-australias-most-compelling-foodie-destination-gh29pr#ixzz4Km11x3f9 
 

July '16 Guest Reviews - Thank You!

July '16 Guest Reviews - Thank You!

I cannot stress enough how wonderful this AirBnb & its hosts are! This is what makes AirBnb so special. First off, the space is exactly how it is depicted in the photos & description--unique and wonderful and definitely romantic. 

Guest Feedback May/June '16 - Many Thanks!

Guest Feedback May/June '16 - Many Thanks!

Rebecca was lovely and welcoming showed us how to use everything in the house. We loved It was close to town! The place was so modern clean and private! All the mod cons were awesome and loved the floor heaters and the fact the bedroom was so dark. Thank you Rebecca we had a lovely time away!

Recent guest feedback - thank you!

Recent guest feedback - thank you!

  • Elaine Alberghini

    Rebecca was lovely and very welcoming with good information about the area. Loved the location and it was nicer than expected.The room was beautifully furnished and bed, bathroom and coffee and tea facilities very generous.

    What Elaine loved about your listing: 
    It was nice to have a chat with Rebecca and getting a little better acquainted as we have a little in common with our kids studying away from home! Lovely location and street. Great to have the privacy to come and go and to have a pretty nice outlook form the chairs.

    May 2016

  • Rhiannon Mason

    Absolutely beautiful, tastefully designed Airbnb. We were also well looked after by Rebecca - could ask for better service and communication. The location in Sandy Bay is incredible - such a nice area, and close enough within walking distance to beautiful cafes, restaurants and shopping in Hobart city, Salamanca, Battery Point and Sandy Bay itself. Will definitely come back to stay in future. Thank you so kindly for having us!

    May 2016

  • Jack Stanway

    Very friendly and welcoming host, and a lovely little hide away. Would highly recommend!

    May 2016

  • Aiveen Bannan

    What a beautiful home! Our stay was too short..

    May 2016

  • Toni Rikys

    Rebecca was a warm and inviting host. Communication before my reservation was confirmed and during our stay was helpful and efficient. The apartment itself was the perfect place to enjoy Hobart from. It was clean, modern and very welcoming. We enjoyed lots of sunshine in Hobart and walked easily all around Surrounding areas. On the one rainy day it was very snug looking across the water from our apartment and enjoying everything so thoughtfully provided.

    What Toni loved about your listing: 
    How welcoming Rebecca (and the very helpful Linda) was. The amenities and position of the apartment. It was a beautiful place to be.

    May 2016

  • Nevin McClintock

    Best place we've stayed at in a very long time! the apartment was central & beautifully appointed, a great mix of the old historic school & a high end renovation. Very comfortable king size bed, luxurious bath and lovely and warm. Rebecca was a fabulous host. Could not recommend it highly enough

    What Nevin loved about your listing: 
    Thanks so much Rebecca, We loved our stay and it make our time in Hobart that much better.

    May 2016

  • Jennifer Tierney

    Such a warm, friendly welcome and the place and view was beautiful! It met every expectation and more. We will be definitely coming back and recommending to all my family and friends. Thanks Rebecca :)

    What Jennifer loved about your listing: 
    We loved the house (and the extra details such as bathrobes, orange juice and Sukin products :) ) and the spectacular location.

    May 2016

  • Clare Moss

    Bec was a wonderful host she made us feel so welcome. We stayed for 2nights at the school house, a stunning property that was so homely. It was the little touches that made the difference. I would stay here again and recommend to my friends. Thank you for making our stay in Hobart so special. Clare :)

    April 2016

  • Eva Lewis

    Fantastic stay at this little gem of a place. Rebecca has thought of everything, and it felt like pure luxury. The retractable roof is amazing- we could see the full moon while lying in bed! Beautiful neighborhood, easy walk into town. Couldn't recommend this place more highly.

    April 2016

  • Nick Adams

    Great little room with all the features you could want. Really enjoyed our stay and looking up at the stars.

    April 2016

  • Kim Kelleher

    We were in Hobart for work and really enjoyed the school house. The listing is exactly as described - wonderful! The area is great, full of historic homes and the walk to town via Battery Point each day was a highlight. It was nice to have a sound system and apple tv too :)

    April 2016

  • Danny Green

    Amazing BnB! Will hopefully stay again.

    April 2016

  • Damien Mohammed

    Our stay here was out of this world and an amazing one that will now be part of us. The location, value, friendliness and welcome was priceless or to describe. This place gives you the "wow" factor for sure. I am almost out of words to continue to describe our romantic and lovely stay. Hats out to Rebecca and a must stay place for sure!

    April 2016

  • Jessica Gardner

    Beautifully appointed accommodation in a stunning location. The room is small but extremely comfortable and a delight to be in. The architectural design, quality finishes and stylish decor make this place special, as well as the fact it is situated on a beautiful historic property with amazing views. Rebecca is a great host. She was welcoming and gave us some tips for places to go in the city then left us to enjoy our stay knowing how we could reach her if we needed anything. Thank you for sharing your lovely piece of Hobart!

    April 2016

  • Tahlia Stewart

    We were welcomed personally by the host Rebecca who showed us the hideaway, which is separate from their house (the gorgeous historical Bishop's Court) and located in the back corner of their lovely garden. Rebecca took the time to show us how the features of the room worked, and gave us a fantastic rundown on all of the best places to eat and drink during our stay. The room itself was very nice, particularly the generous bathroom. The roof that opens above the bed was a fun novelty. And the hideaway was just a short stroll to Salamanca Bay and Battery Point, making it easy to explore Hobart by foot. It was also nice to have some juice and milk for us in the fridge when we arrived.

    What Tahlia loved about your listing: 
    The roof that opens over the bed was so much fun! Felt nice and private. Glad to have access to washer/dryer.

    April 2016

  • Hugo Armstrong

    A lovely apartment, very well renovated, and well appointed. Ideal for a small family. Thanks Dermott and Rebecca.

    April 2016

  • Alex Matthews

    We had a delightful time in Hobart! The location was great and the apartment was perfect for a relaxing long weekend. Thanks Rebecca!

    April 2016

  • William Aherne

    Rebecca and her family were fantastic. Very welcoming especially with the home made apple cake. The housekeepers apartment was warm and cosy, spotlessy clean with an excellent entertainment system perfect for keeping the kids happy. Close to city centre and markets and a short walk to supermarkets and restaurants in Sandy Bay. Everything was as described and we would have no hesitation about staying here again.

    What William loved about your listing: 
    You've ruined airbed for us as you are our first host and everyone else will have a hard time matching your amazing standard. You've set the bar too high Rebecca.But we were absolutely delighted with everything and your amazing home. The peace and quiet and the surroundings are great and Patrick was happy staying on his own while we went out which says a lot. Regards William & Maura.

    What William thought you could improve about the experience: 
    She can't. Our stay was perfect.

    April 2016

  • Audrey Lewis

    We had the most delightful stay here at the old school house. Can't fault it, fabulously designed, close walk to sandy bay or city. Delightful hosts. Very clean. We will be back

    April 2016

  • Liam Nield

    The Hideaway was a wonderful experience in a most unique setting. The outdoor fireplace, sleeping with the roof open, and luxury bathroom were all highlights, and the location in a leafy street only a few minutes from Battery Point and Salamanca is perfect. Rebecca was a wonderful host, with quick and detailed responses to any queries we had.

    What Liam loved about your listing: 
    Everything.

    April 2016

  • Patrick McGlynn

    Everything about the accommodation has been well thought out. For example, coffee, juice and milk were provided. Additionally, the place has an iPad with a Sonos speaker. The place is located in a nice neighborhood near the action of Salamanca, etc. To boot, Rebecca was very accommodating. We would definitely stay again.

    April 2016

  • Allan Wallace

    We cannot speak more highly of our accommodation in Monty’s Hideaway. It is quiet, cosy, private, light, modern and spotlessly clean. It is rather small (no wardrobe space), but it is well equipped for what we needed. Sited in a neatly-kept garden, with a view, it is a relaxing place to stay. The opening roof is delightful – one can enjoy a view of the stars from the bed. Rebecca is a wonderful, helpful and friendly host. Within walking distance to the harbour, it was the perfect base for our visit to Hobart.

    April 2016

  • Nicole Barrah

    A huge thank you to Rebecca who was the perfect host, friendly, helpful and knowledge. Our accommodation was in a great location, was clean, modern and a pleasure to use, couldn't have been better. We would highly recommend this listing. A+

    April 2016

  • Clare Sutton

    Rebecca's place was amazing, so beautiful and relaxing and in a great spot - easy to walk to everything.

    April 2016

  • Sharon Joy Wells

    Beautiful place to stay, exceptional design in a lovely streetscape, and close to Battery Point. Most notable was Rebecca's consideration in so many ways. Big thanks. S&T

    April 2016

  • Emma Cornell

    We had an amazing stay here. Rebecca was very friendly and accommodating which was greatly appreciated as we had an early flight in. The space was immaculate, modern and loads of fun. We loved the sliding roof and open plan bathroom. We also really enjoyed using the Apple TV at night! Had lots of fantastic little extras such as a hair dryer, shampoos etc, juice and an iPad and speaker. Really private and overall a brilliant stay- thanks so much!

    April 2016

  • Alexander Clark

    A beautiful house. Everything was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better location.

    April 2016

  • Phil Campbell

    We were made to feel very welcome at Tutor's. The apartment was beautiful and in a brilliant area close to everything. Any queries we had were followed up straight away. We would highly recommend Tutor's to anyone visiting Hobart.

     What Phil loved about your listing: 
    Thanks Rebecca. You made sure our first airbnb experience was a really good one! Loved the apartment.

    April 2016

Recent guest feedback - thank you!

Recent guest feedback - thank you!

  • Beautiful spot! The room was perfect, nice and relaxing private hideaway in a central location. An easy walk to Salamanca Markets and the waterfront area. Rebecca was so welcoming! We even had hot cross buns left for us (it was easter). Would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Hobart and wanting to stay centrally.

    What Belinda loved about your listing: 
    Thanks so much for having us to stay, we LOVED it!!

    March 2016

  • Fiona Ng

    I was very happy with our choice to stay at The Old Bishop's Quarters in Hobart. Rebecca and Dermot are wonderful hosts and extremely helpful, responsive and genuine! Learning about the history of The Old Bishop's Quarters is also pretty amazing, to know you are staying in a piece of Australian history and heritage. The apartment itself is beautifully designed and extremely comfortable with its luxurious beds, showers, bathtub, entertainment and kitchen amenities, perfect for two couples or a family. The Old Bishop's Quarters is in a perfect location, close to the famous Salamanca Markets and picturesque Battery Point with great eateries and cute shops. You can easily drive or catch a ferry to MONA which was the highlight of our trip besides the Port Arthur Ghost Tour! We also highly recommend dining at Templo, a hidden gem of a restaurant nearby with absolutely delicious food! Thank you again Rebecca and Dermot for your warm hospitality in Hobart, we hope stay here again soon!

     

    What Fiona loved about your listing: 
    History of the house, luxurious and beautiful apartment, in an extremely convenient location in Hobart!

    March 2016

  • Michael .

    What a fantastic place to call home while we explored Hobart this Easter. This stunning residence is located only a stone's throw from everything and our hire car had to sit patiently while we walked to the many fabulous restaurants nearby. Rebecca was lovely, making herself available if need be, however we found her extensive list of local haunts more than sufficient. Beautifully restored and wonderfully comfortable (not to mention the massive plush beds you just couldn't wait to sink into) I would recommend the old bishops quarters to anyone wanting to treat themselves to a bit of luxurious Tassie charm.

    What Michael loved about your listing: 
    Loved the Sonos

    March 2016

  • Eve Mayes

    We loved this place- particularly the roof that opened over our heads lying in bed in the morning. When we arrived to the room, there was music playing on an iPad mini and the heater was on (there is also heating that warms the floorboards. The place is immaculate - designed with a focus on being compact but very comfortable, with boutique hotel towels, sheets, furnishings and toiletries. The bed and the doona were so comfortable - and the bathroom is beautiful - with the edges of the roof opening up. We also loved the path approaching the hideaway and the well-tended rosebushes and chestnut tree. We arrived early, and Rebecca met us to show us where to park. We left our car and walked into the Mona ferry - a very quick walk to the middle of Hobart Harbour. Was a perfect way to spend our first night in Hobart!

    What Eve loved about your listing: 
    The comfort of the furnishings, the roof opening up, the short walk to the harbour.

    March 2016

  • Stephen Bruce

    Rebecca and her husband Dermot were just amazing. The property is stunning, perfect location, amenities incredible. It was the perfect spot to stay, not a single complaint. Rebecca went above and beyond in terms of a host and like other reviewers, would stay back here in a heart beat.

    March 2016

  • Shóna Delaney

    Such a lovely place to stay. The bed was so comfortable, the bathroom is exactly how I'd design my own, very modern. Surround sound and apple TV too (but we never got around to turning the TV on.) My only regret is I did not get to spend more time relaxing in the room, as there is so much to do in Hobart! We walked everywhere from there, and Rebecca had plenty of helpful suggestions on bars and restaurants. I would recommend definitely staying 2-3 nights here!

     

    What Shóna loved about your listing: 
    How clean and modern the place is. Loved the sonos! And if we had more time would love to have cosied up and watched some tv. Location is excellent to! And your tips on bars and restaurants was great.

    March 2016

  • Lesley Berry

    Tutor's was amazing! Bec was very welcoming and friendly. She was a great host. The place itself was perfect! Great location, lots of helpful info provided, beautiful surroundings. Couldn't have been happier. I highly recommend this place!

    What Lesley loved about your listing: 
    Thanks Bec! Everything was wonderful.

    March 2016

  • Michael & Miriam Morrow

    Fantastic place! Love the modern design. Great location. Walked everywhere. Rebecca was a lovely host!

    March 2016

  • Gavin McColl

    My partner and I stayed here for 1 night and had a wonderful time. The room was stunning, truly amazed at all the mod-cons with the clear highlight being the retractable roof through which we were treated to a beautiful, clear starry Hobart sky. Rebecca was extremely helpful with lots of great suggestions for places to eat, drink and grab coffee. She kindly let us use her driveway after we'd checked out whilst we visited MONA. Would highly recommend. Thank you so much for having us!

    March 2016

  • Chris Winchester

    My girlfriend and I loved our time at Monty's Hideaway. An amazing unique little cabin with every detail thought of plus more! It's very comfortable and private. Location is perfect on one of the best streets in Hobart. An easy walk to almost everything. Rebecca and Dermit were great hosts, very welcoming and helpful whilst respecting privacy.

    March 2016

  • Cathy Burke

    We really enjoyed our stay. The apartment is beautiful, well equipt and very comfortable. Very close to the city and shops and amenities. Rebecca and Dermot were lovely and welcoming and provided lots of useful information. We would recommend it to anyone!

    What Cathy loved about your listing: 
    I loved the bathroom and amazing bath! The whole apartment was just beautiful and had everything we needed. We really enjoyed having netflix too.

    March 2016

  • Frances McNulty

    Had a gorgeous night's stay in the old bishop's lodgings. It's been so tastefully done, can recommend for some interior design inspiration! Rebecca was very warm and helpful and provided an absolutely splendid soundrack. A wonderful end to the Tasmanian whirlwind. Thanks very much from us all!

    What Frances loved about your listing: 
    Hi Rebecca, Just a quick note to thank you very much from myself and my parents for our wonderful stay a couple of weeks ago. No doubt you'll be seeing me again :) All the best, Frances

    March 2016

  • Caitlin Farmer

    Rebecca was a lovely host... the harbour views are phenomenal and she and her husband have worked hard to make this beautiful historic house the perfect retreat, from a courtyard garden with a bbq, Spotify, milk and orange juice chilled and waiting. The bath is a must and the location is perfect!

    March 2016

  • Carol Chomsky

    Wonderful space in a renovated historic house. The owners have taken great pains to make it a comfortable, even luxurious, stay. The master suite had a lovely sitting area, and the second bedroom would be perfect for kids. Central Hobart is about a 15 to 20 minute walk away, so the location works well if you don't feel the need to be close to the central waterfront or business district. We didn't explore Sandy Bay, so can't say anything about the more local area. The hosts were very welcoming, providing both an introduction to the history of the home and to restaurants and other facilities in the area. One of the nicest places we've found through Airbnb.

    March 2016

  • Lizz Clarke

    Simply fabulous! How can you go wrong with a retractable roof? A comfortable and considered space with everything you need to hand. Very comfortable bed, friendly inconspicuous hosts and a great shower to boot! Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

    March 2016

  • Jesse Davison

    Perfect Historic Hotel that has had a modern update.

    What Jesse loved about your listing: 
    Everything. This property is perfect.

    March 2016

  • Kate Paterson

    Rebecca's house is amazing and the secluded accommodation is equally fantastic. Very modern and visually stunning, as well as comfortable and practical. I will most definitely be back to visit again as it was a real treat in such a beautiful location in Hobart.

    What Kate loved about your listing: 
    Everything. It was a real treat to be looked after so well on such a short visit.

    March 2016

  • Kristin Swannell

    Rebecca was most welcoming right from the start and made us feel very at ease and comfortable, her knowledge of the area was very helpful and a great help to us first time tassie visitors. Everything was in walking distance and buses were easy to work out as we didn't have a car. The room was lovely and clean and luxurious and the bathroom was to. We cant wait to come back for another stay.

    What Kristin loved about your listing: 
    We loved the accommodation, the closeness to shops and cafes, Rebecca for being so lovely and helpful.

    March 2016

  • Magda Vincent

    We greatly enjoyed our stay at the appartment. It is modern, well designed and comfortable - nice views, great bed and bathroom! Rebecca was very hospitable and quickly responded to our queries. Highly recommended.

    March 2016

Biography - Francis Russell Nixon

Comment

Biography - Francis Russell Nixon

The first Bishop of Tasmania


Nixon, Francis Russell (1803–1879)

by W. R. Barrett

This article was published in Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 2, (MUP), 1967

Francis Russell Nixon (1803-1879), Church of England bishop, was born on 1 August 1803, the second son of Rev. Robert Nixon, D.D., F.R.S., of North Cray, Kent, England. He was educated at Merchant Taylors' School, London, and at Oxford (B.A., 1827; M.A., 1841; D.D., 1842). Graduating third class in classics he was made a probationary fellow of St John's College. After ordination he served as chaplain to the embassy at Naples and was then appointed one of the 'Six Preachers' at Canterbury Cathedral and chaplain to the archbishop. He next held the parish of Sandgate and the perpetual curacy of Ash next Sandwich. In January 1843, to provide funds for a chapel of ease at Ash, he published Lectures, Historical, Doctrinal and Practical, on the Catechism of the Church of England; it went through at least six editions.

On 21 August 1842 Nixon was appointed first bishop of Tasmania and three days later was consecrated in Westminster Abbey with four other bishops. With his wife and children, their governess and Archdeacon Fitzherbert Marriott, he sailed in the Duke of Roxburgh. At Cape Town, where no Anglican bishop was appointed until 1847, he confirmed some four hundred persons, consecrated a church and ordained a priest. Arriving at Hobart Town in July 1843, he was received by civic and ecclesiastical leaders, took the oaths and was made a member of the Executive Council. His letters patent were read, creating Van Diemen's Land a separate diocese, St David's Church a cathedral and Hobart a city. A week later he was enthroned. His first official residence was in Upper Davey Street; after three years he moved to Boa Vista in Argyle Street (later part of the Friends' School), and in 1850 he bought Runnymede at New Town, renaming it Bishopstowe.

Nixon soon sized up the needs of his diocese and within eighteen months sent Marriott to England for help; in particular he wanted men for more adequate spiritual ministrations; and money to build churches and schools. Most remarkable of all was his request for money to establish a college on English university lines for the higher education of colonial youth and for training them for holy orders. The archdeacon's mission was highly successful in obtaining both men and money: in 1846 the Launceston Church Grammar School was opened in May, the Hutchins School in Hobart in August, and Christ's College at Bishopsbourne in October.

Nixon was soon in collision with Lieutenant-Governor Sir John Eardley-Wilmot on the discipline of clergymen within the diocese. Wilmot acknowledged the bishop's control over colonial chaplains even though they were paid by the government, yet he continued to employ and pay two of them whose licences had been withdrawn by Nixon for unbecoming behaviour. His reason for thus thwarting the bishop was that these chaplains had not been 'tried and convicted', although he knew the bishop had no court. The problem of chaplains attached to the convict establishments was, however, more difficult. On 29 May 1844 Nixon put his case clearly in a letter to Lord Stanley; he refused to ordain, licence or have any official responsibility for chaplains to the convicts because they could be appointed, dismissed and restored without his privity and were therefore exclusively under civil jurisdiction. To avoid a clash, Wilmot called these chaplains 'religious instructors' and claimed that their ordination was not an essential qualification. After lengthy correspondence between Nixon, the lieutenant-governor, the secretary of state and the archbishop of Canterbury, a reasonable compromise was reached: the governor was to submit appointments and removals for the bishop's consent, and any disagreements were to be settled by consultation between Downing Street and Canterbury. Stanley hoped to ease tension by appointing Marriott 'superintendent of convict chaplains', but although the plan was supported by the archbishop of Canterbury, it angered Nixon as another instance of lay interference with episcopal authority. Through respect for Stanley and confidence in his archdeacon, he agreed to allow Marriott to act as superintendent, but only by his episcopal authority. Dissatisfied with this solution, Nixon went to England in 1846-48, but he got little support from the archbishop and none from the government. He was able, however, to denounce the convict system which was turning the colony, he said, into 'the lazar house of the British dominions'. In 1847 he gave evidence before a House of Lords committee on the pitiable state of the convicts and the evils of transportation. His plain speaking contributed to the abolitionists' victory in 1853 and also helped to solve the problem of chaplains to the convicts.

Nixon had other difficulties with some of the clergy who had been in the colony before his arrival. Having tasted independence, they did not submit gracefully to his authority and looked on him as an interloper. The senior chaplain, Rev. William Bedford of St David's Church, was quite open in opposition. Three times he refused to produce his commission for inspection and, when Nixon insisted on using his cathedral for Lenten lectures, Bedford and his church wardens asserted their parochial rights over St David's, threatening to close the doors against him and to appeal to the civil authorities against his 'aggression'. The bishop's letters patent enjoined him to 'visit all Rectors, curates and chaplains' in the diocese 'with all manner of jurisdiction, power and coercion ecclesiastical', but they did not authorize the establishment of a consistorial court with power to compel the attendance of witnesses or to examine them on oath. Nixon sought this authority from the lieutenant-governor without success, for other denominations were suspicious. An appeal to London resulted in May 1849 in supplementary letters patent that omitted power to set up a court, and with no strengthening of his disciplinary power his difficulties were increased. The problem was not solved until, in consultation with his clergy and laity, the constitution of a synod was hammered out and given legal effect by the Tasmanian parliament on 5 November 1858. Next May the first synod met for thirteen days. One feature of it was that the laity shared equally with the bishop and clergy in management of the church's affairs. Its principal business was to pass acts for the trial of ecclesiastical offences, for the patronage of parishes and for a general church fund on a voluntary basis in preparation for the withdrawal of state aid.

In October 1850 Nixon went to Sydney for the historic meeting of the six Australasian bishops. Publication in Tasmania of the 'Minutes' of this meeting caused great controversy. The Oxford Movement and ritual question were already disturbing the churches and in some quarters Nixon and a number of his new clergy were accused of Puseyite tendencies. This was far from true; in November 1844 in a dramatic scene at the cathedral Nixon had read a protest against the appointment of a Roman Catholic bishop in Tasmania and solemnly placed the document on the altar. In his visitation charge to the clergy in 1851, he clearly enunciated his 'full belief that soundness in the faith with regard to the sacraments of Christ is a probation against Romanism on the one hand and Puritanism on the other'. Nevertheless publication of the 'Minutes' brought addresses and counter-addresses to the bishop. The chief cause of unrest was the statement on baptismal regeneration, an aftermath of the Privy Council judgment on the Gorham case. Those who feared that the true faith was being undermined in the diocese formed an 'association of members of the Church of England for maintaining in Van Diemen's Land the principles of the Protestant Reformation'. Led by Rev. Henry Fry they published a protest in the form of a 'solemn declaration', maintaining among other things the right of private judgment. With a high sense of his office and prerogatives, and of the need for discipline, Nixon maintained that private judgment in matters on which the church had declared her faith in the Book of Common Prayer and the Thirty-nine Articles was not consistent for any member of that church. He therefore refused preferment to anyone who had been a party to the protest. After long trouble and tension, his attitude mellowed, and on 1 June 1855 the Tasmanian Church Chronicle, reporting his third visitation, paid this tribute: 'we must be allowed to record our admiration of the perfect confidence and cordiality with which the Bishop placed himself in the hands of his clergy. His Lordship is better understood now than he seems to have been four years ago'. In recommending rather than enjoining the introduction of a weekly offertory to help the church to be self-supporting, he set a fine example by giving a tenth of his government income and other generous sums.

In the controversy between churches and government over subsidized education the bishop joined with vigour. Earlier, religious instruction of an Anglican type had a prominent place in the public day schools. In May 1839, however, a newly appointed Board of Education changed to a quasi-secular system, which provided for daily Bible readings but forbade denominational teaching, although allowing clergy the right to teach children of their church at convenient hours. Anglicans protested without avail against the spending of public funds on a system of religious education which denied the majority church the right to instruct her children in their own faith. The bishop urged clergy and people to repudiate state aid on these conditions, and to establish church schools financed by their own efforts, and where that was not possible, to organize Sunday schools.

Nixon never spared himself in the pastoral oversight of his large diocese, which included King Island, the Furneaux group and even Norfolk Island. In 1849 his yacht was stolen and never recovered, but he still contrived to visit the Bass Strait islands and northern Tasmanian settlements. His Cruise of the Beacon, published in 1854 with his own illustrations, records one such visit. At his home, between travelling, he had interviews, voluminous correspondence, administrative duties, reading and the preparation of sermons and lectures. Even so, he found time for his family and for music, sketching and painting.

In 1847 he was described as 'a remarkable man both in appearance and character, good-looking, coal-black hair … piercing black eyes, and full, rather thick lips; tenacious of his rights, extremely anxious to be correct with regard to costume and all other points of etiquette, devoted to the fine arts and a beautiful draughtsman'. But twenty years of pioneering took their toll. After illness in 1862 he went to England hoping to improve his health and to return next year. But he was no better and resigned from 19 August 1863, telling the archbishop of Canterbury that he could not conscientiously retain his office with satisfaction to himself or with efficiency to the church. He was given the important living of Bolton Percy, Yorkshire, but his health did not improve. In 1865 he retired to Vignolo on Lake Maggiore, Italy, which he loved. The milder climate brought benefit, although he was seldom free from his 'tooth-ache in the back'. He died on 7 April 1879, and was buried in the British cemetery at Stresa.

Nixon married three times. In 1829 he married Frances Maria Streatfield (d.1834) by whom he had three children, Frances Maria, Robert and Harriet. In 1836 he married Anna Maria, daughter of Charles Woodcock; they had eight children. Anna Maria was a devoted wife who acted as his secretary. She also sketched and played the organ at St David's. Two years after Anna's death at Vignolo on 26 November 1868, Nixon married Flora Elizabeth Muller, who bore him two sons.

In the new cathedral in Hobart Nixon is remembered by a stained glass window and by the side chapel. A portrait in oils by Rev. J. Dixon is in the possession of Holy Trinity Church, Launceston. A number of his water-colours are in the Diocesan Registry, Hobart, and others in private hands.

Comment

Recent guest feedback - thank you!

Comment

Recent guest feedback - thank you!

  • Adam Stanyer

    The Old Bishop's House was all that the listing offered, great location and apartment, close to shops and places to eat. Booking was easy as was the check in and check out. Very much recommended.

    March 2016

  • Elizabeth Margaronis

    We spent a weekend at Rebecca's historic school house and it was a wonderful base from which to explore Hobart! Rebecca was friendly, warmly welcoming and very helpful, giving us excellent recommendations and providing a very interesting history of the accommodation. The school house itself is DIVINE - cannot be faulted! The neighbourhood of Sandy Bay is easily one of the prettiest areas of Hobart, and so close to the hot spots in Salamanca and Battery Point. The house is gorgeously renovated, it felt like a 5-star hotel - it was supremely clean and included beautiful touches like bath robes, heated towel racks and Sukin bath products. Absolute luxury!

    What Elizabeth loved about your listing: 
    Thank you so much for having us, Rebecca! We fell in love with the school house - it was beautiful. We really appreciate how easy it was to organise our stay with you, and for your warm welcome (even though we arrived so late!). We will definitely be recommending the school house to our family and friends!

    February 2016

  • Kate Newstead

    Beautiful spot from which to explore Hobart!

    February 2016

  • Steve Tognazzini

    Well what can I say! Rebecca just ruined Airbnb for me because I don't think I will ever stay in a listing as beautiful as Monty's School House was. Everything about it was just amazing and we were just upset that we had to leave. We will 100% be back here again and I would recommend this to anyone and everyone!

    What Steve loved about your listing: 
    Thank you so much Rebecca for letting us stay at your beautiful property. We had a wonderful time and will 100% be back in the future.

    February 2016

  • Gerard Sholly

    only an overnight which was disappointing as the accom is a perfect base from which to explore the city.Rebecca was very friendly and helpful in getting me settled in and explaining the unique studio apartment's many features. Great find and I will be back again.

    What Gerard loved about your listing: 
    unique and quiet.great touches in the apartment

     What Gerard thought you could improve about the experience: 
    no problems at all.

    February 2016

  • Iain Barr

    We had a really fantastic time here. The retractable roof was amazing.

    February 2016

  • Coco Zhou

    Nice location, space is spotless. Very modern and chic. Rebecca is helpful and flexible .

    February 2016

  • Marc Budge

    Remarkably situated with a splendid water view, Monty's Schoolhouse is a 'must stay' in Hobart. Beautifully presented, well equipped, it was a pleasure to stay here whilst visiting all Hobart now has to offer. Would not hesitate to recommend this airbnb....in fact, I may just have to stay again! !...next time....

    February 2016

  • Robert Mamone

    We found Rebecca's apartment to be very clean, super modern and stylish and in a fantastic location within walking distance to Salamanca. Access was easy and Rebecca's instructions and communication easy to follow. Would highly recommend this apartment and would certainly stay here again if returning to Hobart!

    What Robert loved about your listing: 
    My friends and I had a fantastic weekend in Hobart and your accommodation was perfect for us. In fact since I've been back another friend of mine has since told me she stayed with you also. Would highly reccommend.

    February 2016

  • Chris Troiani

    In Hobart for short notice business meetings. All corp approved hotels were booked solid due, or suupid $$$ for a Motor-Inn, so tried AirBNB. Found this for a reasonable price in a great location. Rebecca was responsive - the residence was absolutely fantastic. For the price easily the best $$$ stay i have ever had short notice in Hobart. I very rarely give 5 stars but the price and the accommodation given the short notice - and the quality of the residence was a suprise to say the least. The only disappointing fact was given i was here on business (late night / early morning start), i couldnt enjoy the residence to my full advantage. But definately will return and have a weekend in Hobart and stay here. I will also stay here when on business. Thankyou Rebecca and see you again soon.

    What Chris loved about your listing: 
    Fantastic.

    February 2016

  • Alison Atkinson

    We had a great time staying at Rebecca's hideaway. The service was excellent, the room lovely and the location perfect. We would definitely recommend staying here for all those travelling to Hobart!

    What Alison loved about your listing: 
    Everything!

    What Alison thought you could improve about the experience: 
    Nothing, we had a great time.

    February 2016

  • Ian Todd

    Rebecca is the perfect host and exuded a genuine warmth and welcome. The accommodation matched and exceeded our expectations. It truly is a little bit of luxury. Ideally situated for walking down to Sandy Bay and local shops just around the corner. It was lovely to come back to the flat every day and chill. Lovely outdoor seating area and barbecue. All this and complementary home baking. Who could ask for anything more.

    What Ian loved about your listing: 
    Well appointed spacious accommodation and the perfect hostess

    February 2016

  • Judy Ryon

    My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Monty's School House. Rebecca was a very gracious host; we were greeted warmly and assisted in bringing our belongings into the accommodation. Rebecca was very helpful when we left a pair of glasses at a friend's house and made sure that we received them. The renovation of the school house was very well done. The bedroom and bath were extremely comfortable, the kitchenette had all you could need, and the gas fire was divine as we arrived on a rainy, cold day. All in all, a great experience and we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

    What Judy loved about your listing: 
    Thank you for all your help Rebecca. You were a great host!

    February 2016

  • Baz Williams

    I have stayed at quite a number of Airbnb lodgings so far, Rebecca's listings would have to be the most amazing i have yet to experienced. The photo's as vast as they are do not do the space Rebecca and her husband have created justice, the facilities are just stunning and the views from the front window over the gardens to the beach are striking. At risk of locking myself out of this listing when we visit Hobart again I can only suggest if you are looking for lodgings in Hobart you could not find a better space to stay.

    February 2016

Comment